Geraldton Guardian Mid West Sports Awards

The annual Geraldton Guardian Mid West Sports Awards is an opportunity to recognise the outstanding achievements of our local sporting community for the following categories:

  • Senior Sports Star of the Year
  • Junior Sports Star of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Administrator of the Year
  • Official of the Year
  • Club of the Year
  • ATLAS Inclusion Award
  • BRIAN “PUTTER” SMITH - Sports Personality of the Year
  • MID WEST SPORTS FEDERATION - Mid West Hall of Fame
  • MID WEST ACADEMY OF SPORT – Athlete of the Year


To reward and recognise the efforts of these highly valuable people in our sporting community, the Mid West Sports Federation needs to know who they are and what they have done.

Nomination forms for all categories are available through the Mid West Sports Federation website  

Nomination Rules

Nominations made by individual sports must be endorsed by the respective local sporting association.

Nominations may be submitted by the Mid West Sports Federation Panel.

Sports are encouraged to nominate a maximum of one male and one female nominee per category.

Nominees for awards must have participated in a minimum of 50% of the local playing season.

Judging Period

The judging period runs between 1 October 2017 to 30 September 2018.

Awards Presentation

The presentation of the annual Mid West Sports Awards will take place on Friday 16 November 2018 at the Queens Park Theatre, Geraldton. This night is the pinnacle of sporting achievement in the Mid West and provides recognition for the efforts of the local sporting community.