Nominations open for Australia Day Awards

Published: Wednesday, 2 October 2019 at 10:35:35 AM

Do you know a local hero who deserves to be recognised for their hard work? Nominations are now open for the Australia Day Community Citizen of the Year Awards.

City of Greater Geraldton Mayor Shane Van Styn has called on the community to step forward and nominate a person or group that goes above and beyond.

“Greater Geraldton is home to so many fantastic individuals and groups who make outstanding contributions to the community,” he said.

“The Community Citizen of the Year awards is a fantastic opportunity to recognise them for all of their hard work.

“I strongly encourage everyone to have a think about those who make a positive difference within our community and put their name forward.”

Nominations are accepted for both Geraldton and Mullewa residents, with the winners of each award being announced during Australia Day celebrations on 26 January 2020.

Categories include:

  • Community Citizen of the Year
  • Community Citizen of the Year Youth - 25 and under
  • Community Citizen of the Year Senior - 65 and over
  • Active Citizenship Award (for a Community Group or Event)
  • City of Greater Geraldton Young Achiever of the Year - 18 and under

A panel of judges will review the nominations against selection criteria that demonstrates the nominee’s active citizenship.

Previous recipients of the awards include Emma Jackson, Di Gilleland, Grant Woodhams and Julian Canny.

Nominations close on Thursday 31 October 2019.

To find out more information and to complete a nomination form, visit the City’s website at or contact the City’s Events team on 9956 6600.

Nominate your local hero for an Australia Day Award

Back to All News