## Nominations for Committees - Council - November 2023

#### **Dear Council Members**

Please indicate on this form which committee you are interested in nominating for, so we can prepare the item. If there are more nominations than vacancies, a ballot will be conducted.

Refer to the attached extract from the City of Greater Geraldton Committee Book – DRAFT *Volume 7 – 2023-2025* - for details on each committee.

Council Committee Minutes are published on the City's website at : <u>Committee Meetings » City of Greater Geraldton (cgg.wa.gov.au)</u>
As per *Local Government Act 1995 – section 5.8 Establishment of Committees:* 

A local government may establish\* committees of 3 or more persons to assist the council and to exercise the powers and discharge the duties of the local government that can be delegated to committees.

\*Absolute majority required.

IMPORTANT to Note: Council members that attend committee meetings are all voting delegates. Without a quorum no decisions can be made at the meeting. Membership numbers do have a bearing on quorums of meetings.

**NOTE**: As per Local Government Act – section 5.10(4) – the Local Government is to appoint the Mayor to be a member of committee of which he has expressed a wish to be a member of.

'Other persons' will be appointed by Council decision at a later date.

November 2023 D-23-149378

# Nominations for Committees – Council - November 2023

Name of Committee	Name of pe	rson nominating
CEO Performance Review Committee	1. Mayor J	Clune
The Mayor will take one vacancy	2. Deputy	Mayor Cr N Colliver <b>nominated</b>
	3. Cr P Fior	renza <b>nominated</b>
The Council has a responsibility under the Local Government Act 1995 (5.38-5.39) to review the CEO performance	4. Cr M Lib	orizzi <b>nominated</b>
at least once annually plus set performance criteria so the CEO is clear on the expectations of Council.	5. Cr S Coo	pper <b>nominated</b>
City of Greater Geraldton Audit Committee	1. Mayor J	Clune
	2. Cr J Den	ton <b>Nominated</b>
The Mayor will take one vacancy	3. Deputy	Mayor Cr N Colliver <b>nominated</b>
In accordance with the Local Government Act 1995 (the Act) – s.7.1A (1) A local government is to establish an audit committee of 3 or more persons to exercise the powers and discharge the	4. Cr M Lib	orizzi <b>nominated</b>
duties conferred on it		
An audit committee plays a key role in assisting a local government to fulfil its governance and oversight	5. Cr S Co	ooper (Deputy Committee Member)
responsibilities in relation to financial reporting, internal control structure, risk management systems, legislative	nomina	ted
compliance, ethical accountability and the internal and external audit functions.		
Greenough Bush Fire Advisory Committee	1. Mayor J	Clune
orcenough bush the Auvisory Committee	•	ker nominated
The Mayor will take one vacancy		rsman <b>nominated</b>
	3. CI A HOI	isman <b>nominateu</b>
The City of Greater Geraldton Bush Fire Advisory Committees are formally appointed Committees of Council	1 Eiro Con	itrol Officer
established under section 5.8 of the Local Government Act 1995, and are responsible to that body.		
	5. Cape Bu	rney Bushfire Brigade Captain
Mullewa Bush Fire Advisory Committee	1. Mayor J	Clune
	•	orizzi <b>nominated</b>
The Mayor will take one vacancy	3. Cr A Hor	rsman <b>nominated</b>
The City of Country Country Duck Fire Advisory Councittees are formally as a sixted Councittees of Council		
The City of Greater Geraldton Bush Fire Advisory Committees are formally appointed Committees of Council	4. Captain	Mullewa South Bushfire Brigade
established under section 5.8 of the Local Government Act 1995, and are responsible to that body.	5. Deputy	Chief Bushfire Control Officer
Greater Geraldton Crime Prevention Committee	4 D	Maria Calli Calli a caracteria d
Greater Geraldton Crime Prevention Committee		Mayor Cr N Colliver nominated
The Community Safety and Crime Prevention Plan was Adopted by Council 24 July 2018 (DCS376). The City will host		rsman <b>nominated</b>
the Greater Geraldton Crime Prevention Committee, which is the overarching committee for Crime Prevention in	3. Cr J Crito	ch <b>nominated</b>
the City.	4 5	Constitution Manager at NU
	4. Deputy	Committee Member <mark>: Nil</mark>
Note: Other persons/external members are 'voting' members for this Committee		
Greater Geraldton Community Grants Committee	1. Cr V Tan	nti <b>nominated</b>
	2. Cr M Lib	orizzi <b>nominated</b>
To allocate funds provided by Council to Community Groups servicing the Greater Geraldton area in accordance	3. Cr S Kee	mink <b>nominated</b>
with determined guidelines.	4. Cr J Crito	ch <b>nominated</b>
	5. Cr S Coo	per <b>nominated</b>
Geraldton Regional Art Advisory Committee	1. Cr J Den	ton <b>nominated</b>
	2. Cr S Kee	mink <b>nominated</b>
To provide advice to Council on the Geraldton Regional Art Gallery and City public art initiatives, aligning these	3. Cr K Par	ker <b>nominated</b>
with the community's desired cultural outcomes, as detailed in the Strategic Community Plan (2031) and the	4. Cr S Coo	pper <b>nominated</b>
Greater Geraldton Public Art Strategy 2020-2025.		
Note: Other persons/external members are 'voting' members for this Committee		
Queen Elizabeth II Seniors And Community Centre Advisory Committee	1. Deputy	Mayor Cr N Colliver <b>nominated</b>
		ton <b>nominated</b>
The Queen Elizabeth II Seniors & Community Centre is a facility vested in the City of Greater Geraldton, with		pper <b>nominated</b>
considerable Council capital and by virtue of its funding arrangement Council and State Government capital and		ch <b>nominated</b>
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,		

November 2023 D-23-149378

## Nominations for Committees – Council - November 2023

### **Heritage Advisory Committee** 1. Mayor J Clune 2. Deputy Mayor Cr N Colliver nominated Provide advice to Council on the development and implementation of the City of Greater Geraldton Heritage 3. Cr S Keemink nominated Strategy 2023-2028. 4. Cr K Parker nominated [Endorsed by Council – 28 March 2023 – CC003] 5. Council Member 5: Nil Note: Other persons/external members are 'voting' members for this Committee **Behaviour Complaints Committee** 1. Mayor J Clune 2. Deputy Mayor Cr N Colliver nominated The Mayor will take one vacancy 3. Cr J Denton **nominated** In accordance with the provisions of the Policy, the Behaviour Complaints Committee (the Committee) is a 4. Cr J Critch **nominated** committee established by Council in accordance with section 5.8 of the Local Government Act 1995 (the Act) for 5. Cr V Tanti **nominated** the purpose of dealing with complaints received under Division 3 of Council Policy 4.2 Code of Conduct for Council Members, Committee Members and Candidates. 6. Deputy Committee Member 1: Nil 7. Deputy Committee Member 2<mark>: Nil</mark>

November 2023 D-23-149378